Deutsch

Calendar

Chaos Computer Club calls for Chelsea Manning’s pardon

2016-07-29 12:00:00, linus

As a reaction to her recent suicide attempt, Chelsea Manning is now facing indefinite solitary confinement. We call for an official pardon of the repeated nobel peace prize nominee and honorary member of the Chaos Computer Club.

In 2010, former US army soldier Chelsea Manning brought to light documented US army war crimes, commonly referred to as „Collateral Murder“. She also leaked a large number of diplomatic cables, enabling the public to have a look behind the scenes of US foreign policies.

In August 2013, Manning was sentenced to 35 years imprisonment. While serving her sentence, she was repeatedly subjected to unwarranted cruelty, e.g. extended solitary confinement and denial of adequate medical treatment. Furthermore, as a transgender woman, she is forced to serve her sentence in an all-male prison.

Because of continuous severe depression, Chelsea Manning attempted to take her own life on July 5th. Her own legal team learned about this from the press, after repeatedly being unable to reach her.

As a reaction to her suicide attempt, Manning is now facing an official investigation which could result in disciplinary measures including indefinite solitary confinement and reclassification into maximum security.

„The inhumane conditions of imprisonment have driven Chelsea towards suicide. Now, she is threatened with their aggravation“, said CCC spokesperson Linus Neumann. „In 2012 already, the United Nations special rapporteur on torture harshly criticized her ‚cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment‘. We demand Barack Obama to pardon Chelsea Manning in order to put an end to this unwarranted cruelty. This would be the long-awaited sign for whistleblowers, for which many of us hope.“

In recognition of her engagement against war crimes, Chelsea Manning is an honorary member of the Chaos Computer Club. Parting US presidents traditionally exercise their prerogative of pardoning. We ask Barack Obama to show mercy for Chelsea Manning.

Links:

Charge sheet as dictated by Chelsea Manning to a supporter over the phone

US Government continues to deny Manning access to health care

English

Calendar

CCC fordert Begnadigung für Chelsea Manning

2016-07-29 12:00:00, linus

Als Strafe für einen versuchten Selbstmord droht Chelsea Manning eine zeitlich unbegrenzte Isolationshaft. Der Chaos Computer Club fordert die Begnadigung seines mehrfach für den Friedensnobelpreis nominierten Ehrenmitglieds.

Die ehemalige US-Soldatin Chelsea Manning, von 2009 bis 2010 im Irak stationiert, hat die als „Collateral Murder“ bekanntgewordenen Kriegsverbrechen des US-Militärs ans Licht der Öffentlichkeit gebracht. Ebenfalls leakte sie eine Reihe von US-Botschaftsdepeschen, die der Öffentlichkeit einen Blick hinter die Kulissen der US-Außenpolitik ermöglichten.

Im August 2013 wurde Chelsea Manning dafür zu 35 Jahren Militärhaft verurteilt und verbüßt seither diese Strafe. Immer wieder ist sie dort Schikanen wie anhaltender Isolationshaft und der Verweigerung adäquater medizinischer Betreuung ausgesetzt. Als transsexuelle Frau wird sie zudem gezwungen, ihre Strafe in einem rein männlich besetzten Militärgefängnis zu verbüßen.

Aufgrund anhaltender schwerer Depressionen hat sie am 5. Juli einen Selbstmordversuch unternommen. Ihr rechtlicher Beistand erfuhr davon aus der Presse, nachdem Kontaktversuche ohne Begründung verwehrt worden waren.

Als Reaktion auf diesen Selbstmordversuch wurde gegen Manning nun eine offizielle Untersuchung eingeleitet, deren Ergebnis weitere Disziplinarmaßnahmen sein können. Zu den möglichen Konsequenzen für Manning gehören Isolationshaft auf unbegrenzte Zeit und die Verlegung in den Hochsicherheitsbereich.

„Die unmenschlichen Haftbedingungen haben Chelsea Manning an den Rand des Selbstmords getrieben. Als Strafe für ihren Versuch sollen diese nun noch verschärft werden“, sagte Linus Neumann, Sprecher des Chaos Computer Clubs. „Mannings Haftbedingungen wurden schon 2012 vom UN-Berichterstatter als Folter kritisiert. Wir fordern den scheidenden US-Präsidenten Barack Obama auf, Manning zu begnadigen und so den grausamen Bedingungen ein Ende zu bereiten. Das wäre endlich das langersehnte Zeichen für Whistleblower, auf das viele hoffen.“

Chelsea Manning ist in Anerkennung ihres Engagements gegen Kriegsverbrechen Ehrenmitglied des Chaos Computer Clubs. Scheidende US-Präsidenten haben traditionell ausgiebigen Gebrauch von ihrem Gnadenrecht gemacht. Wir fordern Barack Obama auf, Gnade für Chelsea Manning zu zeigen.

Links:

Charge sheet as dictated by Chelsea Manning to a supporter over the phone

US Government continues to deny Manning access to health care