Deutsch

Federal Constitutional Court Stops Electronic Voting Roulette

2009-03-04 22:45:59, erdgeist

The Federal Constitutional Court decided today that the use of voting computers is unconstitutional. Rather, elections in Germany must be understandable by everyone without any special knowledge. The court declared the constitutional principle of a public voting process a fundamental requirement for democratic elections. This was the core issue on which the CCC campaigned against voting computers. Conversely, the court determined that speedy election results are not a requirement for democratic elections. The NEDAP voting computers, as used in Germany so far, will be consigned to the scrap heap of history.

In its  decision today regarding the constitutional vote of the German Federal parliament in 2005, the judges of the Federal Constitutional Court made clear that comprehensible and secret votes are the core of our democratic system. This system is eroded by the use of voting machines. It must be possible for people without technical knowledge to trace and understand the complete voting process. Therefore, votes shall not be saved solely in electronic memory at any time.

The Ministry of Interior and the National Institute of Natural and Engineering Sciences have to date promoted a "culture of expertism", where voters were dependent on someone else having determined the reliability of the voting system. This is no longer possible. The democratic act must never be removed from the direct control of the voter.

"Those still praising the digital spirit or greater efficiency of electronic elections fail to understand the character of democracy and must not be entrusted with essential aspects of the country's electoral system", says CCC spokesman Dirk Engling.

But the court left the door to electronic voting slightly open--if any given voter can prove the correctness of the vote and the counting-process, without any special knowledge. These requirements on voting computers however mean a de-facto ban, because the economic arguments fall down when only one voter asks for a recount of paper ballots. The court also rebuffed the failure to disclose the technical functioning of the voting process, which was guarded by NEDAP and PTB as trade secrets.

Engling commented on the hurdles erected by the Federal Constitutional Court: "We are eager to see whether future producers of election computers are able to demonstrate their systems meet the standards set by the judges. The CCC will be watching closely."

At the same time the court corroborated the principle of secret balloting, thus making the introduction of on-line elections more difficult. In addition to the lack of public oversight, many other issues remain around on-line elections including the possibilities of trading one's vote and voting on using someone elses account.

Despite public disputes, several German communities fell for NEDAP's promise of "20 years of use" and bought voting machines. "They now should quickly file claims against the producers, as the machines failed to provide features as promised", CCC spokesman Engerling says, "Soon these machines won't be anything but bulky chess computers."

English

Calendar

Bundesverfassungsgericht beendet elektronisches Wahlroulette

2009-03-04 22:45:59, erdgeist

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat heute entschieden, daß der Einsatz von Wahlcomputern nicht verfassungsgemäß ist. Vielmehr müssen Wahlen in Deutschland von jedermann ohne Expertenwissen nachvollzogen werden können. Der Verfassungsgrundsatz der Öffentlichkeit der Wahl, den der Chaos Computer Club zum Kernpunkt seiner Kampagne gegen Wahlcomputer gemacht hatte, wurde vom BVerfG als wesentlich für die Durchführung demokratischer Wahlen definiert. Hingegen ist die Geschwindigkeit der Ergebnisermittlung keine Anforderung an eine Wahl. Damit sind die bisher in Deutschland verwendeten NEDAP-Wahlcomputer nur noch Elektroschrott.

In seiner heutigen Entscheidung zur Verfassungsmäßigkeit der Bundestagswahl im Jahre 2005 haben die Karlsruher Richter klargestellt, dass nachvollziehbare und geheime Wahlen zum Kern unseres demokratischen Systems gehören. Dieser wird durch den Einsatz von Wahlcomputern ausgehöhlt. Es müsse auch "Menschen ohne technische Fachkenntnisse" möglich sein, die Wahl komplett nachzuvollziehen. Dazu dürfen Wählerstimmen zu keiner Zeit einzig und allein in elektronischen Speichern abgelegt sein.

Die bisher praktizierte und vom Bundesinnenministerium und der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt propagierte Kultur des Expertentums, bei der sich die Wähler auf eine vorab festgelegte Vertrauenswürdigkeit der Computersysteme verlassen müssen, hat sich damit erledigt. Der demokratische Urakt darf nicht der unmittelbaren Kontrolle der Wählers entzogen werden.

"Wer jetzt noch mit dem digitalen Zeitgeist oder der angeblich besseren Effizienz elektronischer Wahlen argumentiert, hat nicht verstanden, was das Wesen von Demokratie ist und sollte nicht weiter mit wesentlichen Aspekten des Wahlvorgangs betraut werden", sagte Dirk Engling, Sprecher des Chaos Computer Club.

Zwar hat das BVerfG die Tür für elektronische Wahlen einen Spalt breit offengelassen, allerdings nur, wenn der Wähler jederzeit ohne Fachkenntnisse die Korrektheit der Stimmabgabe und -auszählung überprüfen kann. Diese Anforderungen an Wahlcomputer bedeuten jedoch defacto ein Verbot, da die ökonomischen Argumente für den Einsatz von Wahlcomputern hinfällig werden, sobald mindestens ein Wähler das Nachzählen der Papierstimmen verlangt.

Engling kommentierte die vom Bundesverfassungsgericht errichteten Hürden, "Wir sind gespannt, ob zukünftige Hersteller von Wahlcomputern in der Lage sind nachzuweisen, dass ihre Systeme den von den Richtern bestimmten Grundsätzen entsprechen. Der CCC wird sicher sehr genau hinschauen."

Gleichzeitig stärkte das Bundesverfassungsgericht den Grundsatz der geheimen Stimmabgabe, was die Einführung von Online-Wahlsystemen erheblich erschwert. Kernprobleme etwa von Internet-Wahlsystemen sind – neben der mangelnden öffentlichkeit – möglicher Stimmenkauf oder die Abgabe einer Stimme von jemand anderem als dem Computerbesitzer.

Den Kommunen, die trotz umfangreicher öffentlicher Debatten über die Wahlcomputer, auf die Werbeversprechen von 20-jähriger Verwendbarkeit des Herstellers NEDAP hereingefallen sind, bleibt nun nur noch die Schadensbegrenzung. "Um nicht zum Endlager für Wahlcomputerschrott zu werden, empfiehlt der CCC den betrogenen Kommunen, sofort Ansprüche gegen die Hersteller der offensichtlich minderwertigen Systeme geltend zu machen.", so Engling weiter, "Später würden diese höchstens noch als unhandliche Schachcomputer zu gebrauchen sein."