Deutsch

Calendar

CCC reports information leak at TNS Infratest/Emnid: the living rooms of 41,000 citizens exposed on the internet

The scientific journal of the Chaos Computer Club (CCC), Die Datenschleuder, reports that market research firm TNS Infratest/Emnid has lost 41,000 private data records of their survey participants.

As the magazine reports [1], it was possible for participants to read master data records and consumer profiles without bypassing even basic security measures. Access to the comprehensive survey results could be gained by simply changing the customer ID number in the browser's address bar.

Besides name and address, the data records included date of birth, email address and phone number. Many records also included very sensitive information: monthly income, education, bank account information, health insurance data, if and which credit cards are used, which electronic devices are used in the household, children's ages and yet more private data.

"TNS Infratest made a beginner's mistake in their software development. This is unprofessional, grossly negligent and above all deeply worrying," commented CCC spokesman Dirk Engling regarding the incident. "As this information is very sensitive, where abuse such as identity theft or its use in connection with burglary cannot be excluded, THS Infratest needs to inform the victims immediately," he continued.

This case continues a disastrous, never-ending series of information leaks of data held by public and private sector organisations. The need for more strict control of sensitive data collections is evidenced by the recent snooping affairs by German Telecom as well as the data leaks from the "Meldeämtern" (registration of address offices). It is obvious here that data security only plays a minor role in companies. "Especially for companies surveying the most confidential data, the highest security standards have to apply," said Engling.

In view of the severity of the loss, the CCC sees itself vindicated in its calls [2] for strict regulations for public and private sector data collectors.

The press team of the Chaos Computer Club is available for questions at the following addresses:

  • presse@ccc.de (preferred)
  • 0700-CHAOSFON (0700 - 24267366)

Links (German)

English

Calendar

CCC meldet Sicherheitsleck bei TNS Infratest/Emnid: Das Wohnzimmer von 41.000 Bürgern im Netz

Das Wissenschaftliche Fachblatt "Die Datenschleuder" des Chaos Computer Clubs (CCC) meldet eine schwerwiegende Datenpanne: Dem Marktforschungsinstitut TNS Infratest/Emnid sind über 41.000 Datensätze mit persönlichsten Daten ihrer Umfrageteilnehmer abhanden gekommen.

Wie das Blatt vermeldete [1], war es durch einen Fehler in der Programmierung allen Umfrageteilnehmern der Marktforscher möglich, Stammdaten und Konsumprofile aller anderen Befragten einzusehen, ohne besondere Schutzmechanismen zu umgehen. Das einfache Austauschen der Kundennummer in der Adreßzeile des Browser genügte, um Einsicht in die umfangreichen Umfragedaten zu bekommen.

Neben Namen und Anschriften sind in den Datensätzen Geburtsdatum, E-Mailadressen und Telefonnummern vermerkt. Bei vielen Befragten sind diese zudem mit sensiblen Informationen gespickt: Monatseinkommen, Ausbildung, Kontoverbindungen, Krankenversicherungen, ob und welche Kreditkarten benutzt werden, welche elektronischen Geräte im Haushalt verwendet werden, Alter der Kinder und viele weitere private Daten.

"TNS Infratest hat einen Anfängerfehler bei der Entwicklung seiner Software gemacht. So etwas ist unprofessionell, grob fahrlässig und außerdem einfach peinlich", kommentierte Dirk Engling vom CCC den Datenunfall. "Da es sich um persönlichste Daten handelt, bei denen ein Mißbrauch, wie etwa durch Identitätsdiebstahl oder zur Vorbereitung von Einbrüchen, nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, muß TNS Infratest dringend die Betroffenen informieren", fordert er weiter.

Dieser Fall setzt die verheerende, nicht abreißende Reihe von Datenverlusten aus öffentlichen und privaten Datensammlungen fort. Daß eine strengere Kontrolle sensibler Datensammlungen unumgänglich ist, zeigten nicht zuletzt auch die spektakulären Schnüffelmaßnahmen wie im Falle der Telekom oder die Datenpannen in den Meldeämtern. Hier wird auch deutlich, daß Datenschutz in Unternehmen nur eine untergeordnete Rolle spielt. "Gerade für ein Unternehmen, welches privateste Daten abfragt, müssen besonders hohe Maßstäbe bei der Datensicherheit gelten", so Engling.

Der CCC sieht sich in Hinsicht auf die Schwere des Unfalls in seinen Forderungen [2] nach strengen Auflagen für öffentliche und private Datensammler bestätigt.

Für Rückfragen steht Ihnen das Presseteam des Chaos Computer Clubs und der Redaktion Datenschleuder zur Verfügung:

  • presse@ccc.de (bevorzugt)
  • 0700-CHAOSFON (0700 - 24267366)

Links